NOTE: By submitting this form and registering with us, you are providing us with permission to store your personal data and the record of your registration. In addition, registration with the Medical Independent includes granting consent for the delivery of that additional professional content and targeted ads, and the cookies required to deliver same. View our Privacy Policy and Cookie Notice for further details.

Don't have an account? Subscribe



Doctors prepare to vote in Medical Council elections

By Reporter - 27th Feb 2023

irish innovations

Nominations have now closed for doctors wishing to contest the Medical Council elections for the upcoming term commencing June 2023.

The Medical Council is the regulatory body for doctors and has a statutory role in protecting the public by promoting the highest professional standards amongst doctors practising in Ireland. The Council, which consists of 25 members, has a majority of non-medical members, with 13 non-medical members and 12 medical members.

Of these, six members are elected by their fellow registered medical practitioners, five are appointed by the Minister for Health, one being nominated by the Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science and the remaining 13 are appointed by a number of nominating bodies. The six members appointed following the election process must fall under the following categories:

  • Specialist Division – Anaesthesia
  • Specialist Division – Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Specialist Division – Pathology or Radiology
  • Specialist Division – Public Health Medicine
  • One medical practitioner, not being a consultant, practising medicine in a hospital
  • One registered medical practitioner, not falling within any of the other categories

In order to be considered for election, a registered medical practitioner must be nominated by 10 registered medical practitioners practising medicine in the State. Only registered practitioners, that is, those on the register of medical practitioners, may stand for election to the Medical Council.

Following the close of the nominations period, the independent returning officer, Mr Fergus Gallagher, Dublin County Sheriff, has announced the candidates for election to the Medical Council.

“As the Returning Officer, I have reviewed the nominations received and have deemed the following candidates eligible for election in the following categories, in accordance with the Medical Practitioners Act 2007:

Specialist Division – Anaesthesia

Dr Patrick Breen (Registration Number: 015547)

Dr Suzanne Crowe (Registration Number: 19051)

Dr David Honan (Registered Number: 013213)

Dr Ehtesham Khan (Registration Number: 049848)

Specialist Division – Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Professor Deirdre Murphy (Registration Number: 013130)

Dr Carmen Regan (Registration Number: 010140)

One medical practitioner, not being a consultant, practising medicine in a hospital

Dr Becky Uju Azuma (Registration Number: 429142)

Dr Norella Broderick (Registration Number: 411396)

Dr Orla Kelly (Registration Number: 417025)

Dr Muhammad E A Khan (Registration Number: 412829)

Dr Jannush Kylanathan (Registration Number: 503259)

Dr Liqa ur Rehman (Registration Number: 413159)

One registered medical practitioner, not falling within any of the other categories

Professor Camilla Carroll (Registration Number: 010181)

Dr Michael McGloin (Registration Number: 006585)

Mr Nauman Nabi (Registration Number: 404027)

Dr Andrew O’Flaherty (Registration Number: 023252)

Professor Desmond O’Neill (Registration Number: 000784)

Dr George Leslie Thomas (Registration Number: 063271)

Mr Gallagher continued, “In the category of Specialist Division – Public Health Medicine, and in the category of Specialist Division – Pathology or Radiology, no candidates have been deemed eligible for election, and as a result, this category will be filled in accordance with regulations at a later date.”

All doctors who were registered as at 15 February 2023 are eligible to vote when voting opens on 1 March, closing at midday on 21 March.  All doctors are encouraged to make sure they have their say in the formation of the next Medical Council by voting.

Speaking today, CEO of the Medical Council, Mr Leo Kearns, said: “The Medical Council elections are a great opportunity for doctors to have an impact on an organisation that directly affects them. By voting in this election, doctors can help choose those who will shape the future of the Medical Council.

“The past number of years have been a time of great change and development for Council, and we look forward to continuing this in the new term. We are very fortunate to have so many strong candidates nominated for election, and I would urge all registered medical practitioners to use their vote.”

Leave a Reply






Latest Issue
The Medical Independent 11th June 2024

You need to be logged in to access this content. Please login or sign up using the links below.


Most Read