NOTE: By submitting this form and registering with us, you are providing us with permission to store your personal data and the record of your registration. In addition, registration with the Medical Independent includes granting consent for the delivery of that additional professional content and targeted ads, and the cookies required to deliver same. View our Privacy Policy and Cookie Notice for further details.

You can opt out at anytime by visiting our cookie policy page. In line with the provisions of the GDPR, the provision of your personal data is a requirement necessary to enter into a contract. We must advise you at the point of collecting your personal data that it is a required field, and the consequences of not providing the personal data is that we cannot provide this service to you.

Don't have an account? Subscribe

Winners announced for National GP Awards 2018

By Mindo - 26th Sep 2018

General practitioners and healthcare professionals were presented with Awards across 11 categories by television personality, Dr Pixie McKenna (pictured above). A further 21 nominees were commended for their contributions to healthcare across the country.    <br /> <br />Now in its third year, the annual National GP Awards recognise excellence, innovation and collaboration amongst GPs, hospitals and healthcare professionals all over Ireland. This year, over 200 nominations were received from all over the country across all 11 categories, from both healthcare professionals and patients.<br /> <br />Dr Shane McKeogh of said: “The quality of the nominations for the Awards this year was truly outstanding.  We are all familiar with the pressure the healthcare sector is under and in particular GPs who are the cornerstone of family healthcare.  These Awards are about stopping and taking some time to appreciate the positive work that has been done to improve healthcare for patients and the achievements of general practitioners and primary care teams in general across the country.”<br /> <br />Mr Barry Downes, Country Manager at Affidea Ireland and a member of the judging panel, said: “The high level of excellence in General Practice and the stories of GP care that go above and beyond the call of duty, as documented by the patients themselves, gets better every year. Congratulations to all the winners and the hard working and dedicated leaders in their fields who were nominated, which is a testament in itself.”

<strong>GP TRAINEE OF THE YEAR </strong>

<br />Dr Ahmeda Ali – North-Eastern GP Training Scheme<br /> <br /> <br /><strong>ESTABLISHING GP OF THE YEAR </strong>

<strong></strong><br />Dr Anna Foy and Dr Peter Kelly – Greystones Family Doctors<br /> <br /><br /><strong>PRACTICE MANAGER OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Georgie Sliney McCormack – Calderwood Family Clinic<br /> <br /> &nbsp;<br /><strong>PRACTICE NURSE OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Ms Eilish O’Sullivan – Riverside Medical Centre<br /> <br /><br /><strong>GP TRAINER OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Dr Jack Keane – Seaholm Surgery, Skerries, Co Dublin<br /> <br /><strong></strong>

<strong>BEST GP AND HOSPITAL COLLABORATION</strong><br /> <br />GP Dermatology Top Ten – Dr Rosalind Hughes, Consultant Dermatologist and Dr Roisin Hambly, Specialist Registrar, St Vincent’s University Hospital.<br /> <br /><br /><strong>INNOVATION IN PRACTICE</strong><br /> <br />SNAP GP – Dr Tommy Lynch<br /> <br /> <br /><strong>SAFETY IN PRACTICE</strong><br /> <br />ATRIAL FIBRILLATION AND STROKE: ABCD OF AF-STROKE PREVENTION IN GP – Dr Diarmuid Quinlan<br /> <br />  <br /><strong>RURAL PRACTICE OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Buttevant Medical Centre, Buttevant, Co Cork – Dr Michael Kennedy<br /> <br /><strong></strong>

<strong>PATIENTS’ CHOICE AWARD</strong><br /> <br />Dr Eileen O’Connor, Louisburgh Medical Practice, Co Mayo.<br /> <br /><br /><strong>GP OF THE YEAR</strong><br /> <br />Dr John Latham, Latham Medical Centre, Dublin 8.<br /> <br /><br /> <br /> <br />

Leave a Reply

Latest Issue
The Medical Independent 20th February
The Medical Independent 20th February 2024

You need to be logged in to access this content. Please login or sign up using the links below.

Most Read