NOTE: By submitting this form and registering with us, you are providing us with permission to store your personal data and the record of your registration. In addition, registration with the Medical Independent includes granting consent for the delivery of that additional professional content and targeted ads, and the cookies required to deliver same. View our Privacy Policy and Cookie Notice for further details.

Don't have an account? Subscribe



Medical Council election candidates announced

By Mindo - 19th Feb 2018

The Medical Council, which is the regulatory body for doctors, has a majority of non-medical members. The 25 member Council consists of 13 non-medical members and 12 medical members.

Six members of the Council are elected by registered medical practitioners.

The six medical members who are elected must be nominated by 10 registered medical practitioners practising medicine in the State. Only registered practitioners, on the register of medical practitioners, may stand for election to the Medical Council.

Following the close of the nominations last Friday, the independent returning officer Mr Fergus Gallagher, Dublin County Sheriff, announced the candidates for election to the Medical Council having deemed the nominations of the following candidates valid.

Specialist Division – Anaesthesia

Dr Suzanne Crowe (Registration Number: 19051)

Dr Ellen Patricia O’Sullivan (Registration Number: 17468)

Dr Eleanor O’Leary (Registration Number :778)


Specialist Division – Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Dr Mary Catherine Therese Doyle (Registration Number: 4345)

Dr Dr Aoife Mullally (Registration Number: 23115)


Specialist Division – Pathology or Radiology

No nominations received in this category


Specialist Division – Public Health Medicine

Dr Anthony Breslin (Registration Number: 11124)

Dr Paul Augustine Quigley (Registration Number: 2191)

One medical practitioner, not being a consultant, practising medicine in a hospital

Dr Erica Maguire (Registration Number: 411015)

Dr Michael Ita (Registration Number: 407576)

Dr Tashfeen Siddiq Ali (Registration Number: 402150)

Dr Eamon Francis (Registration Number: 371688)


One registered medical practitioner, not falling within any of the other categories

Dr Roy Mark Browne (Registration Number: 12635)

Dr Dawar Mahmood Siddiqi (Registration Number: 18116)

Dr Sohail Rasool (Registration Number: 16781)

Dr Shane O’Hanlon (Registration Number: 188795)

Dr Mousumi Dunne (Registration Number: 23439)

Dr Malachy Gerard Coleman (Registration Number: 3464)

Dr Marcus De Brun (Registration Number: 128888)

Dr Cormac Duff (Registration Number: 417089)

Dr Eleanor Mary Corcoran (Registration Number: 3617)

All doctors registered on 15 February 2018 are eligible to vote on the Medical Council website when voting opens between 1 March and midday on 16 March and doctors are being encouraged to make sure they have their say.

CEO of the Medical Council Mr Bill Prasifka said: “Members of the Medical Council have an important role to play in promoting patient safety by working together to ensure high standards amongst doctors registered in Ireland.

“These past five years have been a very positive time for the Medical Council under the outgoing Council, with several significant changes taking place during their tenure, and we’re very grateful for all the guidance and leadership shown by this Council.

“It’s important that all registered doctors have their say on the formation of the Council and participate in the election of new Council members.”

The Medical Council is unique among medical regulators worldwide, in that the majority of the twenty-five member Council is made up of non-medical members, with 13 non-medics. Six of the twelve medical members are appointed following election by registered doctors.

Leave a Reply






Latest Issue
The Medical Independent 11th June 2024

You need to be logged in to access this content. Please login or sign up using the links below.


Trending Articles