Sign up now for ease of access to The Medical Independent, Ireland’s most frequently published medical newspaper, delivering award-winning news and investigative reporting.

  • receive the eCopy two days prior to the printed edition.
  • can partake in our online MCQs.
  • can enter our online sports quiz. is Ireland's only investigative medical news website for doctors, healthcare professionals and anyone with an interest in health issues.

Established in 2010, along with its sister publication The Medical Independent, our stated aim is to investigate and analyse the major issues affecting healthcare and the medical profession in Ireland. The Medical Independent has won a number of awards for its investigative journalism, and its stories are frequently picked up by national digital, broadcast and print media. The Medical Independent is published by GreenCross Publishing.

Address: Top Floor, 111 Rathmines Road Lr, Dublin 6

Tel: 353 (01) 441 0024

GreenCross Publishing is owned by Graham Cooke.

High standards maintained at Young Investigator Award

By Mindo - 08th Nov 2021 | 59 views

Side view of smiling audience clapping hands in opera house. Men and women are watching theatrical performance. They are in elegant wear.

Irish Cardiac Society 72nd Annual Scientific Meeting and AGM, virtual, 7-9 October 2021

The ICS 72nd Annual Scientific Meeting and AGM hosted a wide range of poster presentations for assessment by a panel of adjudicators, as well as the prestigious Brian Maurer Young Investigator Award (YIA). The YIA was supported by Servier Laboratories Ireland Ltd. The YIA candidates were Dr Jatinda Kumar, who spoke on ‘Incidence and prevalence of MINOCA (myocardial infarction with non-obstructive coronary arteries) in STEMI patients: Experience from Irish tertiary care’.

The second presentation was delivered by Dr James Mannion, who addressed the meeting on the topic, ‘Arrythmogenic substrate stratification of posterior left atrial wall in atrial fibrillation versus sinus rhythm in persistent atrial fibrillation using automated voltage analysis’. Next to speak was Dr Munza Hussain, on the theme of ‘Atrial uptake on technetium pyrophosphate scintigraphy: Clinical implications of this new phenomenon’. The final entrant was Dr Jane Murphy, who addressed the topic ‘Predictive genetic testing in inherited cardiac conditions: Findings from a large Irish cohort’.

The judging panel acknowledged the high quality of the entries and it was announced at the end of the meeting that the winner was Dr Hussain. “This is the biggest study looking not only at cardiac amyloid, but it also included patients without cardiac amyloid,” said Dr Hussain during her presentation. “This study also emphasises the link between atrial uptake and atrial fibrillation, given the fact that if you have atrial uptake on your PYP scan, you are more likely to
develop atrial fibrillation within the first year, and this leads to so many clinical questions.”

In the poster presentations section of the meeting, the winner of the Prof David Foley Intervention Case Competition was announced as Dr Lisa Brandon for her presentation on ‘What do cardiology and orthopaedics have in common? How to deal with an emergency fracture’. Winner of the Best Oral Abstract presentation was Dr Daniel O’Hare, for ‘Clinical associations and pathological mechanisms of reduced atrial conduction velocity’.

Dr Habitha Sulaiman won the Best Moderated Poster prize for her poster titled ‘Influence of routine cardiac rhythm assessment in the long-term management of channelopathy patients’.

The Best General Poster winner was Dr Claire Tonry for ‘Identification of novel protein biomarkers for atrial fibrillation’. The Brian McGovern Scholarship Recipient 2021, which was supported by Daiichi Sankyo Ireland, was announced as Dr Heather Cronin. Dr Cronin recently commenced a fellowship in inherited cardiac conditions in St Bart’s Hospital in London under the supervision of Prof Perry Elliot.

Leave a Reply

Latest Issue
medical news
The Medical Independent 19th May 2022

You need to be logged in to access this content. Please login or sign up using the links below.

Most Read