Skip to content

You are reading 1 of 2 free-access articles allowed for 30 days

Membership of National Screening Advisory Committee announced

The membership of the National Screening Advisory Committee (NSAC) has been announced today by the Minister for Health Simon Harris.

The appointments follow an expression of interest for the expert roles which form the membership of the Committee.  

“This is an important milestone in the continued evolution of population screening programmes in Ireland,” said Minister Harris.

“I would like to thank each member of the Committee who are volunteering their time and expertise to ensure our screening programme is scrutinised in accordance with international best practice.

“This Committee intends to work closely with their UK counterparts and other European colleagues, and I am confident that this will ensure that we have a process that is robust, transparent and inclusive and which will ensure that screening programmes in Ireland have a strong supporting evidence base.”

The NSAC chair is Prof Niall O’Higgins, Professor Emeritus of Surgery, University College Dublin.  

“I welcome the appointment of the members of the Committee,” said Prof O’Higgins.  

“They will bring a range of knowledge and experience to ensure the provision of independent advice on population-based screening programmes. A distinctive element is that the members have been appointed on the basis of their expertise and not because of representation or affiliation.”

The National Screening Advisory Committee will hold inaugural meeting on 18 November.

National Screening Advisory Committee Members

·        Dr Abigail Collins, Consultant in Public Health Medicine, National Cancer Control Programme

·        Dr John Ward, Consultant Radiologist, University Hospital Galway

·        Dr. Mary Codd, Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, UCD

·        Dr Sheelagh McGuinness, Reader in Law, University of Bristol Law School

·        Dr Velma Harkins, General Practitioner, Offaly

·        Professor Andrew Green, Consultant in Clinical Genetics and Professor of Medical Genetics, Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital.

·        Dr James O’Mahony, Assistant Research Professor, Centre for Health Policy and Management, School of Medicine, Trinity College

·        Martina Fitzgerald, Journalist

·        Irene Regan, Chief Medical Scientist, Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital

·        John Gleeson, Solicitor and former partner in Mason Hayes and Curran Solicitors

·        Dr Susan Kent, Assistant National Director, HSE and former Deputy Chief Nursing Officer, Department of Health

·        Dr Keelin O’Donoghue, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, Cork University Maternity Hospital

·        Dr Ellen Crushell, Consultant Paediatrician with a special interest in Inherited Metabolic Disorders, Temple Street, Children’s University Hospital and Our Lady’s Children Hospital

·        Dr Paul D’Alton, Associate Professor Principal Clinical Psychologist, St Vincent’s University Hospital.

·        Dr Paul Kavanagh, Consultant in Public Health Medicine, HSE.

·        Anne Burke (Public Voice)

·        Jillian van Turnhout (Public Voice)

·        Professor Michael Rigby, Professor Emeritus of Health Information Strategy, Keele University.

·        Prof Ciaran O’Neill, Professor of Health Economics, Queens University Belfast.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Scroll To Top